CJI Dipak Misra sets up bench to hear Congress plea on rejection of motion seeking his removal

The Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra, has constituted a bench of five judges to hear a challenge from two Congress Rajya Sabha members of Parliament against Vice President Venkaiah Naidu’s rejection of a notice of a motion seeking his (the Chief Justice’s) removal.

The bench doesn’t include the four senior-most judges of the court after Justice Misra; these judges had publicly aired in January their grievances over how the Chief Justice was running the court and allocating cases.

The five-judge bench is led by Justice AK Sikri and has Justices SA Bobde, NV Ramana, Arun Mishra and AK Goel on it.

On Monday, belying reports that the Congress think-tank was divided on challenging the Vice President’s April 23 rejection of the notice moved by the Congress and six other opposition parties on the grounds of “misbehaviour”, Pratap Singh Bajwa and Amee Yagnik argued in their plea that once a removal motion signed by MPs is submitted to the Rajya Sabha chairman, he has no option but to constitute an inquiry committee to look into the charges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *